Calling all Earthlings

I am dedicating my blog today in honour of a good friend (who know’s who he is). Yesterday I saw this interview with Ellen and posted it on Facebook: www.youtube.com/watch?v=L24NW01Rgak&feature=youtu.be

She was so eloquent and really relayed clearly and succinctly the reasons why veganism is a good choice. I was really impressed. What I didn’t expect, was that a good friend of mine would watch it, hear her reference the film Earthlings and straight away watch it.

Earthlings – in case you don’t know – is an award-winning documentary film about the suffering of animals for food, fashion, pets, entertainment and medical research. Narrated by Joaquin Phoenix, its the most powerful movie I have ever seen with the most compelling real horrific facts about what we do to the animals we eat, wear and own.

I haven’t even watched the whole thing. I watched about half, and had to stop as I was a sobbing wreck. I literally couldn’t stop crying. I am not a ‘cryer’ when it comes to movies and this movie literally floored me. Its not an easy watch. Its probably the hardest thing I have ever watched. If you are even considering vegetarianism, let alone veganism, this movie will confirm all of your doubts about what we do to animals and how the world hides it from us in the form of marketing, ‘barn laid’, ‘free range’, ‘pasture fed’ blah blah blah. Watch this and you’ll understand what really happens.

So – to my friend – who went in stone cold and unknowing and watched the whole movie – you have my utmost respect. You can’t unknow what you now know and I am impressed you stuck with it. Its hard hard going not only to watch but also to have so many ‘realities’ and ‘truths’ about what we eat challenged so viscerally.

Here’s the way I see it – Gandhi absolutely nailed it when he said, “The greatness of a nation can be judged by the way its animals are treated.’ Currently they are treated as if they were in their own private holocaust, the world over.

Thank you to my friend, you have inspired me once again and I am happy knowing that one more person knows the truth.

Leave a Reply

