How Delighted I was to Discover that Vegan Food can be Creamy!

I’ve completed a month of being vegan.

I am so delighted. Its gone so quickly and I feel amazing.

Its been an interesting month and so much easier than I thought. Given how much cheese I used to consume, I genuinely thought it would be harder than it was.

I don’t miss milk. I don’t miss cream. I don’t miss butter and I don’t even miss cheese (well not that much.)

Instead I have discovered a whole bunch of new lovely flavours and found myself trying more new things in one month – from a culinary perspective – than I have in years.

Here’s what I have learned:

  1. – That there are an amazing array of products out there just waiting to be discovered.
  2. – That nutritional yeast is absolutely amazing and basically goes with everything (as well as being an awesome source of B12)
  3. – That its easy to eat dairy free – really easy – if you open your mind to it
  4. – That beans / pulses don’t really agree with my gut (apologies to my husband due here)
  5. – That tofu is this amazing flexible food that can be used in so much more than a stir-fry (and that scrambled tofu is insanely good)
  6. – That so many foods are accidentally vegan e.g. oreos, kettle chips, baked beans etc see the full list here)
  7. – That people have really fixed beliefs and limited knowledge about what being a vegan ‘is’ but that most are genuinely interested as to my choice
  8. – That people can surprise you (three of my friends this month have considered / turn vego after watching earthlings)
  9. – That my skin and hair feel amazing on this new diet and I have masses of energy
  10. – That so many more products are animal tested than you can ever imagine (for the first time I have started asking and considering this before purchasing)
  11. – That vegan food can be ‘dairy like’ if you are using the right ingredients for a creamy dish

IMG_20150210_055729Which brings me to last nights dinner. Soooooo good. I am still smiling about it. Inspired by a recipe I read on the weekend I created this dish last night with the help of these awesome ingredients to the left.

  • Ricotta Tofu
  • Kehoes Cashew nut dip
  • Bio Rice Cream

Jac’s Creamy Mushroom and Walnut Pasta (serves 2)

  • 100g Spelt Pasta
  • 20g Porcini mushrooms (soaked, save the juice)
  • 8- 10 large white mushrooms – finely chopped
  • 2 garlic cloves
  • 1 generous serving tofu ricotta (recipe below)
  • Rice Cream (see above photo) – squeeze out a couple of tablespoons and add to taste
  • Optional (I just really like it but its creamy even without it) Kehoes Cashew nut dip (see above photo) – tablespoon
  • 1 tbl spn Nutritional Yeast
  • Tea spoon dijon / hot mustard
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • Juice from the porcini mushrooms – don’t use all of it at once…slowly add and let it absorb. It depends on how runny you want your creamy sauce to be…personal preference.
  • Handful crumbled walnuts
  • 10g Nuttelex
  • Handful chopped chives
  • Dried or fresh Thyme

Its really simple. First make the tofu ricotta and set aside (will take you literally 5 mins).

Tofu Ricotta: Serves 4-5. Literally chuck all ingredients below into a blender and blend. And thats it.

  • 250g firm tofu
  • large handful sunflower seeds
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • tablespoon lime juice
  • Lime zest
  • tablespoon olive oil (add more later if you want the recipe to be looser)
  • tablespoon nutritional yeast (you can buy this in most health food stores)
  • 2 garlic cloves

Then – put the pasta on to boil. Once on – start frying the mushrooms and throw in the porcini mushrooms too (diced) with garlic and nuttelex. Once nearly ready – add in the thyme and chives and (apart from the walnuts) all the other incredients. Turn down and gently simmer. Once nearly ready to serve throw in the walnuts and warm through. And then serve and devour. I had it with a salad. YUM YUM YUM.

Amazing. Smiles all around.

Amazing. Smiles all around.

And there you have it – proof that vegan food can be creamy and delightful. And bloody tasty if I don’t mind saying so myself.

One month in and I can’t imagine my diet being anything other than what it is. I am so happy with my choice and so determined to stay with it.

Thanks to everyone for reading and for your support.

Leave a Reply

