Little balls of bliss

I have discovered bliss balls.

They are, in fact, little snacks of pure bliss and aptly named.

I was getting a little over the same old vegan snacks and, as much as I worship Hummus, it was time to break free from the norm and try something new.

And so I ventured, reliably, onto Deliciously Ella’s site and decided to check out her bliss ball recipes. They are amazing. 

Ok – so in the pic they look a little unexciting and brown, but trust me, they taste absolutely amazing.

2015-04-14 07.31.45 What baffles me is that you pay a fortune for these little treasures if you buy them in the shops.

They might actually be up there in the ranks of the easiest thing I have ever cooked – asides from maybe  beans on toast or a cup of tea!

And you can pretty much put ANYTHING in them so long as you remember 3 core ingredients:

1) 1 cup of whatever nut you choose

2) 1 tablespoon coconut oil

3) 1-2 tablespoons of some kind of nut butter (peanut / cashew / almond it really doesn’t matter)

So this week I’ve tried 4 different recipes with ingredients such as dried mang0, apricots, chia, goji berries,  sultanas etc.

Here is my fave creation below:

  • 1 cup pecan nuts
  • 1/2 cup dried apriots
  • 1/2 cup dried mango
  • handful chia seeds AND handful dried goji berries
  • teaspoon vanilla essence
  • pinch cinnamon
  • handful dessicated coconut
  • 1 tablesp coconut oil
  • 1 tablespoon almond butter
  • 4-5 crystallised ginger cubes

Its really really simple. Chuck all the dried ingredients into a blender. Blend until all the oils from the nuts release and it becomes a sort of tightly packed flour. Then add all the rest. Blend again. Check the consistency and if you feel its too try add a little more oil or butter until it sticks to itself. Then – simply roll into little balls and pop into tupperware or a container of some sort. I’ve been keeping mine in the freezer so I can just pull them out when I fancy one.

I will never again spend ridiculous amounts on buying these.

A life changing moment in the world of good healthy snacks!

One thought on “Little balls of bliss

Leave a Reply

