Chia Bircher Superfood Muesli – who knew?

I am a huge fan of bircher muesli. Its just, for some reason, its always felt like a massive effort for breakfast. I genuinely can’t often be bothered to toast and make my own. I don’t know why as I love to cook, its just something that has never ranked high on my cooking preferences. Odd, because I love the end result.

I didn’t even know bircher existed until I moved to Australia (a little bit like I never had avocado for breakfast until I moved here either). Its one of those amazing discoveries that you never look back on.

A fabulous friend of mine, Elsie, bought me an amazing raw superfoods cookbook for my birthday last week, and it has reinvigorated my bircher appetite and inspired me to try something very new.

This book, the Unbakery, is literally one of the most beautiful cookbooks I have ever seen. Its also almost entirely vegan.There are so many amazing recipes in there and I’ve been inspired to try three of them this week…which is how we ended up with the chia bircher muesli revelation!

I took the fantastic recipe, but added my own twist, and three breakfasts later I am feeling so good about it. Perhaps even a little smug (smiles!).

Yummy chia muesli

Yummy chia muesli

Its delish, light, healthy and balanced. Really happy. I am no masterchef but I think if I had to cook a bircher in a pressure test – this would be a no brainer!

Heres the recipe for anyone interested:

1/4 cup chia seeds (any colour) soaked overnight in 1 3/4 cups almond / macadamia / oat (Whatever you want) milk

Using a spiraliser (or a grater if you don’t have one) add 1 apple and 1 pear into the mix.

Then thrown in a handful of dried cranberries, fresh blueberries and sultanas.

Mix in a tablespoon of cinnamon, a very quick slug of maple syrup, a teaspoon of vanilla essence and stir.

Finally – add in about 1 cup of organic rolled oats and stir.

Let it sit for about 30 mins so all the oozy goodness soaks in and then serve with a large smile on your face.

The combo of the chia and oats is delish and of course you could basically add in whatever you want.

I was really happy with this combo and will definitely be doing it again. it was the easiest, least time consuming bircher I have ever made which = a happy vegan cook.

Much love and kindess until next time.

Leave a Reply

