Something amazing just happened in my kitchen…

I tried to make a vegan mayonnaise a couple of days ago. Let’s just surmise by saying it was a disaster. Truly truly awful. It split. It was runny. It tasted nothing like mayo.

I launched a discussion on one of the vegan FB groups I am a member of and someone said to me I should try an AF recipe…a ‘what’ I had to ask. AF. Aquafaba. Aha…its one of those funny vegan words that you don’t know until you join the club. Well…I am well and truly in the club these days and game to try anything new.

Aquafaba – you might (or might not) be interested to know – is the ‘juice’ (for want of a better word) that comes in a tin of chickpeas or cannelini beans etc etc that you usually immediately drain away.

Some curious crazy innovator discovered that you can USE this stuff to make things like vegan mayo, meringues, macaroons and so on. Its a brilliant egg replacer that is virtually tasteless but fluffs up and whisks up a treat.

Aha.

So an AF vegan mayo recipe could be the ‘go’ I thought.

Here’s the one I found and just made 5 minutes ago using AF from my cannelini bean salad I just had for dinner after a google search: http://peanutbutterandvegan.com/april-all-natural-day-5/

I am almost lost for words. Not a common occurrence.

This shit is AMAZING. It took me 5 mins and following this recipe I have whipped up the most mayo like mayo that doesn’t have eggs in it. It tastes like mayo, looks like mayo and has the consistency of mayo. WTF.

Here’s how I did it:

The juice of the gods

The juice of the gods

Ingredients: 

  • 1 Tablespoon apple cider vinegar
  • 1 teaspoon ground mustard
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 3 Tablespoons AF liquid from a can of chickpeas or cannelini beans (at room temperature)
  • 3/4-1 Cup neutral tasting oil- I used grapeseed
  • Half small garlic clove
  • Handful fresh basil (I love basil mayo)

The recipe was really easy to follow and you can find it here (adding my two additions to it above if you like).

The mayo that has just changed my life

The mayo that has just changed my life

Using an immersion blender, in a small bowl (I actually used the tall container that came with my immersion / hand blender) combine the vinegar, ground mustard, salt,  garlic and basil with the AF liquid and mix for just about 5 seconds so its all combined and smooth. With the immersion blender running, slowly drizzle in the oil 1/4 cup at a time. The mixture will start to become very thick and you will need to move the immersion blender around to get it all combined. Once the mixture is nice and thick stop adding the oil and you are done. It was that easy folks, that easy. Once again that amazing recipe to whom I am now indebted as it has changed my life….

I am an AF convert.

Leave a Reply

