Soya bella -grazie mille

2015-12-31 13.00.14.jpgFor Christmas my wonderful hubby bought me something I’ve been wanting to get my hands on for some time….

A soyabella machine.

Its about the size of an average kettle and works little miracles making soy milk, home made tofu, all nut milks, porridge, soups…you name it.

Thank you so much to my husband for this fantastic gift.

I tried it out last night for the first time…and it was not only fun and intriguing figuring it out but the end result was delish.

I decided to start off with soy milk, as I had the beans soaked and ready to go…

2015-12-31 13.01.11.jpgIn one of my recent blogs I made my own nut milk (almond) and soy milk at home and they were delish. My only comment about them were that, although tasty, they were a little watery and I hadn’t quite figured out that consistency so that they had more of a creaminess about them.

Not so with this new little beauty…

Its amazing. In 15 minutes it made the most delish, creamy, smooth soy milk.

I simply added cane sugar, a pinch of salt and some vanilla essence at the end to get it to the flavour I like.

Its now ready to go in the fridge and I can’t wait to use it with brekky in the morning.

2015-12-31 12.58.58.jpgMain differences I noticed from using this instead of making self from scratch were:

  1. The milk has more of a definite beany flavour. Hard to describe but certainly  not unpleasant. Far from it. It tastes like the product it came from which makes good sense to me.
  2. The end result was creamier, smoother and thicker
  3. It even formed a skin when it was cooling – just like old skool dairy milk (you may think its odd that this excites me – but it does)
  4. It was so so quick. I still soaked the beans overnight beforehand but in 15 minutes it achieved what took me over an hour before.

This was my first foray and I loved it. I can’t wait to try to make my own tofu and my nut milks in here…I have a feeling they will be fabulous. If you are thinking about getting one – this gets a proper thumbs up from me!

Happy nearly new year everyone! #feelingblessed

 

5 thoughts on “Soya bella -grazie mille

Leave a Reply

