Sugar and spice and all things nice…

Once upon a time I felt overwhelmed and a little intimidated making desserts or cakes. I think it’s because, generally, I have more of a savoury than a sweet tooth. I feel more at ease with savoury ingredients and more comfortable with their blends and with how they behave.

Lately, I’ve been cooking a few different desserts; as winter approaches my husband and I have definitely re-discovered a sweet tooth and the love of a sweet treat with a cuppa.

I have – quite by chance – stumbled upon three random recipes all of which have been absolutely sensational. All of which have been easy to cook and all of which have turned out to be delicious without any real skill on my part. In short – they are my perfect sweet treats because I can make them without any real stress about whether or not they are going to turn out like I’d hoped. I feel satisfied, now that I have these three in my repertoire – that I have an option for a dessert, an option for parties / snacks and an option for a good cake that I can roll-out if ever needs be.

2016-06-04 18.25.14First up – let’s start with the dessert for dinner parties / friends or just happy filled bellies. This is a vanilla, lemon flan.

It was supposed to be a cheesecake but I cooked it for too long. And the result was amazing. If you like the texture of a firm custard flan you’ll love this. If not so much – just cook it for a little less time than in the recipe! I cooked it for about ten minutes longer than in the link which might also have made it more of a flan than a cheesecake.

The recipe was from this wordpress site (Click here) but if you look you’ll see the results are quite different. I played with the recipe a little and put my own spin on it (mainly because when I cooked it I didn’t fancy the berry flavour).

What did I do differently?

The base:

  1. I blended up my own version which included: Half cup organic muesli, half packet ginger biscuits, Cup macadamias, half cup almond flakes, 5 dates, tablespoon maple syrup and 2 tablespoons almond nut butter. Blend all together and adjust to taste.

The filling:

  1. I forgot to buy two tubs of tofutti but did have 500gm or medium firm tofu in the fridge. So i replaced the recipes suggestion of 2 tubs cream cheese and 300 (ish) grams of tofu with 1 tub tofutti and 500gm medium firm tofu (thus the slightly firmer texture I believe).
  2. I used slightly more sugar than in the recipe and put in 1.5 cups
  3. I added in a tablespoon of vanilla bean paste on top of the essence
  4. I used cashew nut milk as my nut milk
  5. I also added half cup psyllium husk powder to the recipe to assist with the setting as I am always dubious about whether it will set! (my own personal achilles heel is things never setting like they are supposed to)

The topping:

  1. Instead of the topping in the recipe I used this amazing soyatoo whipping cream and whipped a whole carton with about half cup icing sugar, vanilla bean paste and lemon juice (to taste). It was sensational.

Thank you mungbeans for that amazing recipe! If you follow all the steps in the recipe you will definitely enjoy the fantastic flavours!

cake12-1200x750.jpgNext up – quite simply the most amazing vegan pistachio cake. This was soooooo good my husband and I baked one on the saturday, devoured it, and made another one the next day. Its insane. Kudos to this recipe. The only thing I changed was that I also added about a cup of whole pistachios into the cake mixture as I like the extra texture and flavour that they added. Recipe here.  This is the photo from the recipe page and – amazingly – it turned out to look exactly like this. How often does that happen? Not that often in my kitchen.

Finally – we come to another new fave – the good for snacks / great for easy bake super tasty vegan chocolate ginger recipe which basically works just as well as a cake OR as2016-05-29 14.02.52

brownies.You can spin it either way depending on the tin you use or the way you slice it.

The recipe – again – is super easy and quick. It takes me about ten minutes to prep this and get it in the oven.

Chocolate Ginger Cake / Brownie

  • 180g plain flour
  • 35g Cacao (or cocoa powder)
  • 1 tsp bicarb
  • 1/4 teaspoon himalayan pink salt
  • 225g coconut sugar
  • 112ml coconut oil
  • 225ml water
  • 2tsp vanilla extra
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla bean paste
  • Generous handful chopped crystallised ginger
  • 2 tablespoons apple cider vinegar

For the topping:

  • Finely crumbled gingerbread biscuits (4-5)
  • Handful icing sugar to sprinkle

Its super easy….

  1. Pre heat the oven to 170c (using a fan oven) and grease your baking tin of choice. Line it with non stick baking paper.
  2. Sieve the flour, cacao, bicarb, salt and sugar into a mixing bowl. Stir to combine and make a well in the middle.
  3. Separately blend (I used an immersion blender / hand stick) the oil, water and both vanillas.
  4. Add the ginger to the dry mix.
  5. Add the wet mix into the dry mix and stir gently until combined.
  6. Then – and you’ll need to be quick about this as there will be a reaction – add the vinegar into the mix and gently combine it. It will start to sort of fix and change colour.
  7. Once combined pour into your tin and bake for 30 minutes or until cooked through.
  8. Turn out once cooled and place on a rack to completely cool.
  9. Then sprinkle over the biscuits and icing sugar.
  10. Devour when still a little warm with a cuppa. MMMMMMmmmmm.

This is sooooooo good.

I hope you enjoy these recipes as much as I enjoyed making (and eating them!!!!) They were so yummy and I actually can’t wait to have a chance to cook them for someone other than myself or my husband! We might need to share these calories around a little.

Love and kilojoules ++++

Leave a Reply

