A Tasty Little Tart

I felt like getting creative over the weekend. I haven’t cooked anything technical in a while and my fingers were itching to try something new. Work has also been pretty full on lately and I simply haven’t had the capacity to will myself to get energetic and creative in the kitchen…so it was nice to feel that urge come back.

I wanted to cook (cook isn’t really the right word) something raw, healthy and restorative. I ended up combining two recipes – one from the Unbakery and one from Thug Kitchen (two brilliant vegan cookbooks if you haven’t tried them).

2016-08-14 16.57.34.jpgI ended up creating a cherry tomato tofu ricotta tart…it’s still going three days later and I’ve pretty much eaten it for every meal since! I even donated a slice to a fellow vegan at work (who I think liked it and wasn’t hopefully just being polite!!!)

What I loved about this recipe is its versatility. I can make the base any time and just fill it with whatever I like. Its also delish, amazing with salad, and great to share.

Cherry Tomato Tofu Ricotta Tart

Base: 

  • 1 cup raw almonds (soaked for at least 6 hours) drained
  • 2.5 cups raw hazelnuts (soaked as above)
  • 1/3 cup ground golden flax seeds (ground into a flour…I used my pestle and mortar)
  • 2 TBsp nutritional yeast
  • 1.5 tbsp himalayan pink salt
  • 3 tbsp olive oil (or refined coconut oil)
  • 1/4 cup tap water (or filtered if you happen to have it…I never do)

This is super super simple. Mix all the ingredients in a blender except the olive oil and water. Leave some texture (you don’t want a fine powder) but break down the biggest chunks. It will almost stick together itself at this point even before adding in the oil and water. Then…either blend in water and oil or hand stir it through.

2016-08-14 17.01.44Then, oil the bottom of your tart tin with just a little olive oil and press the mixture into it. Make sure its really tightly pressed together. At this point – I popped the oven onto a low heat (150c on a bake setting) and let it warm up. One it gets to this temp – pop the tart base/s into the oven and let them slowly cook on this temp for about 30 – 45 minutes.

Or you can leave for longer if you want them to be really crispy – I didn’t. I wanted it to be more chewy.

Filling and Topping:

Ricotta:

  • 350g Tofu (firm, any brand)
  • 1/4 cup hulled sunflower seeds
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • half teaspoon grated lemon zest
  • 1 tbsp lemon juice
  • half teaspoon himalayan pink salt
  • 1 garlic clove
  • 1/4 cup nutritional yeast
  • teaspoon dried basil

Quite simply – blend all of this together until its a nice thick puree consistency. It should be even and lump free. This is the base of your tart!

Topping:

  • 500gm cherry tomatoes
  • 2 tbsp balsamic vinegar
  • half bunch basil shredded
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • pinch sea salt

2016-08-14 16.57.22Finely slice the tomatoes and then marinate with the other ingredients for at least 30 mins (hopefully until your tart has finished baking if the timing works out). Leave half bunch basil aside for the dressing at the end.

Once the tart has finished baking simply assemble. I’d leave it to cool for about 10-15 minutes and then spread the tofu ricotta evenly across the base before covering with the tomatoes.

Finally – shred and sprinkle the basil over the top and drizzle with a little finish of olive oil and some fresh cracked black pepper.

Absolutely delicious! Super happy with this one. I’ll definitely be re-creating for guests at some point!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

