Taking the Taste for Granted – Chilli Jam Goodness

Where did it all begin?

Funnily enough, it began with a glut of fresh chilli growing on my balcony. My much loved (not enough watered) chilli plant has been going strong for over 5 years now. Every year I think it’s died and every year it resurrects itself. And it seems to be going from strength to strength. 2016 was definitely its year. We had chilli galore and the entire jam idea began from a simple conversation with my husband that went along the lines of… ‘What on earth are we going to do with all this chill?’ 

Much to his surprise, having never made a relish or a jam in my life prior to 6 months ago, I announced that I was going to make a chilli jam. I think my words went along the lines of, ‘how hard can it be?’

What’s easy about jam, I have discovered, is making it. Its not arduous and its not complex. But what’s hard about jam, which I have learned since the heady days of my first successes, is that its hard to make it consistently well with a depth of flavour and to achieve that same depth batch after batch.

I am simply a women who loves to cook, who loves bold flavour and who loves knowing exactly what’s in her food. That’s all I ask for in a meal – for my taste buds to be delighted and for my body to benefit.

I firmly believe that we are what we eat and my jams are an extension of that belief. They have nothing in them that you can’t pronounce. Nothing in them that’s processed. They are simple and made with love in my kitchen.

File 9-4-17, 1 55 13 pm.jpeg

And so the jam making began in earnest. Chilli came first because, for no other reason, that’s what I had in season on my balcony. And I confess I have gone from being someone who hardly ate any chilli jam, to someone who can’t get enough of it. On everything. I hope that’s what you find too when you try it.

It works with meat, cheese, roasted veg, salads, on toast, with avocado and apparently (a genius idea from Tim) with an egg and bacon slider (smiles). 

Welcome to my jCF386171-2ADA-4E59-9E50-E9B663600D33ams and welcome to my kitchen. I hope you enjoy them as much as I love making them.

Next up will be some experimentation with a rosemary / mint jelly and perhaps a ‘winter is coming’ Game of Thrones inspired shiraz jam.

I am super excited to be working with Tim and Bluesalt Catering and look forward to being part of their menus.

Happy Jamming everyone. Don’t forget to indulge and to feel free to take them for Granted.

Leave a Reply

